Photo credit: Smallz & Raskind

And now for something completely different

As the traditional Monty Python phrase goes

In this case I feel it to be completely appropriate

While I was wandering the web I came across a couple of YouTube vids that captured my attention and I was totally blown away by these two guys, Luka Sulic and Stjepan Hauser. They perform under the name 2Cellos which is fitting for two guys playing two cellos. How convenient! Let me get top the good stuff here. The staging for the vid is frickin hilarious. I loved the hell out of it. See what you think.

What caught my attention was how similar the scenario was to an event I witnessed, twice actually, a few years back at a pair of Jethro Tull concerts where Ian Anderson brought out a young lady, Lucia Micarelli, while unknown to most she is an accomplished classic violinist. What happened next was a classical duet with Ian that quickly evolved into a ripping rendition of a Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody. The next concert she ripped out Led Zeppelins’ Kashmir. It blew everyone away, to say the least. Check out her vid to see what I mean. Enjoy!

While I have been known to occasionally listen to classical music these events have given a whole new twist to modern music on classical instruments. And there is no way to express the energy needed to pull that off! Take a close look at Lucia with no shoes on while she rips out Kashmir. Now I know why.

Hope this expands your horizons with “SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT!”

Published by

bzerob

I am an aging American Navy veteran with some very pointed and acidic opinions. Feel free to heed the warning and read on.

Leave a Reply

