Heat stroke is no joke!

Deutsch: Raumthermometer mit Fahrenheit- und C...
Deutsch: Raumthermometer mit Fahrenheit- und Celsiusskala (USA-Standard). Svenska: Inomhustermometer med Fahrenheit- och Celsiusskala. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Don’t mow your Lawn!

Lawn mowing causes heat stroke. I had the personal evidence to prove it yesterday.

In my case it was after I had mowed the lawn in the AM and while I was putting the mower away that I recognized that I was walking kinda sideways. Immediately after that I became aware of a wicked headache, dizziness and was sick to my stomach. So I headed for the house, as I reached the patio gate I had my legs buckle. That’s when I kinda knew I was in some sort of trouble. Once inside I went for the shower and stood under the chilling water for 10 minutes and started to feel a bit better but the nausea and the headache were still there. A quick trip to Urgent Care confirmed the prognosis.

Kinda sorta Fried my brain! Not that there is a whole lot left to work with but I am sure it didn’t help! And the ringing in my ear is up a couple of notches too and that is annoying! But, dammit, the lawn looks great!

Heat stroke results from prolonged exposure to high temperatures — usually in combination with dehydration — which leads to failure of the body’s temperature control system. The medical definition of heat stroke is a core body temperature greater than 105 degrees Fahrenheit, with complications involving the central nervous system that occur after exposure to high temperatures. Other common symptoms include nausea, seizures, confusion, disorientation, and sometimes loss of consciousness or coma.

Symptoms of Heat Stroke

The hallmark symptom of heat stroke is a core body temperature above 105 degrees Fahrenheit. But fainting may be the first sign.

Other symptoms may include:

  • Throbbing headache
  • Dizziness and light-headedness
  • Lack of sweating despite the heat
  • Red, hot, and dry skin
  • Muscle weakness or cramps
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Rapid heartbeat, which may be either strong or weak
  • Rapid, shallow breathing
  • Behavioral changes such as confusion, disorientation, or staggering
  • Seizures
  • Unconsciousness

Reference WebMD

In my case it kinda snuck up on me and I didn’t catch it until it was on me. I only had some coffee for breakfast and just went about mowing with no thought to needing anything else. I was wrong! And after a stern lecture from Faye Dean, reminding me that I am 61 years old [Well Duh!] and not what I used to be [Thanx Dear!] I was summarily forced to “chill out” for the rest of the day! So I did it!

The only words of wisdom here are “Don’t mow your lawn!” No not really! We all hear about it but the warnings usually go unheeded. Well, pay attention cause it can kill! Nuff said! I do prefer getting fuzzy using the Captain Morgan treatments much better! I am rehydrating myself, right?!

Published by

bzerob

I am an aging American Navy veteran with some very pointed and acidic opinions. Feel free to heed the warning and read on.

One thought on “Heat stroke is no joke!”

  1. YES, heat stroke is a serious condition. I have a remedy for mowing the lawn. Let someone else do it.Then you can watch them pass out. What a novel idea. LOL!!! I cut my lawn in 90+ degree weather, with humidity to match.It never gets that warm up by you tho. Not at all because I want to,mind you. But because it’s on the “HONEY DO” list. Becareful. Thanks for all the “Rants/Raves”. Keep ’em coming.Love them,because they make sense.

Leave a Reply

