October 26 – Day Of The Deployed

Day of the Deployed logo Today October 26 has been unofficially designated , widely recognized nationwide and celebrated as Soldiers Angels Day Of The Deployed.

Americans are encouraged to reaffirm their patriotism and allegiance to our flag and country, and to honor our brave men and women in uniform who are selflessly putting their lives on the line to protect and preserve our way of life. How? Think big, think small, but just…think. Put those thinking muscles in motion and do something that day in their honor. Join us in celebrating our deployed heroes and their families on October 26, 2009.

Soldiers Angels

My grandson Logan is currently deployed in Afghanistan with the US Army 101st Airborne. My brother and other relatives and friends, both here and abroad, are currently serving in the US Armed Forces. I salute you both as a veteran and an American who appreciates what you have done and what you continue to do!

The poem of choice is as follows.

I AM THE ONE
***************************
I am the one,
who was there in the fight that won
the United States of America the right to be
the land of the free and voice of liberty.
I am the one,
who does what must be done
to save and protect
what we all hold dear and respect.
I am the one,
who doesn’t run
when faced with an enemy’s gun,
always there, standing tall
in response to my cherished nation’s call.
I am the one,
whose life was undone,
while doing my very best
for you and all the rest
during a noble quest.
I am the one,
who is a daughter, son,
or another loved one,
proudly serving the USA
every single day
in the Marines, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, Army or National Guard
with it never being about me…
but out of love for my great country!

May we all just take a moment some time today and think about those that are deployed and even those that are not. Thanx BzeroB

Published by

bzerob

I am an aging American Navy veteran with some very pointed and acidic opinions. Feel free to heed the warning and read on.

Leave a Reply

